The Foundry Story
724 44th Street is a historical East Sacramento property that was originally a brass foundry established prior to 1915. Originally built by local brass molder Joseph Blasofsel, The Foundry is known to be the only small private foundry building still in existence from the industrial era; used for both railroad development (locomotives and railcars) and artistic expression (brass sculpture). When the concrete sidewalks around East Sacramento were installed by the Adolph Teichert Construction Company circa 1921, Joseph Blasofsel cast and embedded brass address numbers into the concrete which remain today.
The Foundry Today
In 2008, the oversized city lot was purchased by Mike Paris who designed and constructed an adaptive re-use of the brass foundry and neighboring farm home into the spectacular 3,173 sq. ft. single family home it is today. Mike’s design incorporated many of the original architectural elements circa 1915, adding depth and character to the modern day version of this East Sacramento gem. The original corrugated metal foundry exterior, 23’ foot exposed wood truss vaulted interior ceiling, brick and stone work, gourmet kitchen and five star wine cellar, designer landscaping, backyard fireplace, pristine swimming pool and cozy loft retreat are a sampling of the charming features that make this home an opulent and unique residence.